It’s Cough Season–Thank Goodness for Antimonium Tartaricum and Aconite

I spent Christmas adventuring in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, and it was absolutely amazing. I broke in my snow shoes, got in a couple great hikes, and stayed in a cozy hand-built cabin owned by an artist and shamanic practitioner. The experience was nothing short of magical, except for the cold that I brought home. On the last day of the trip I started to get some pesky cold symptoms after returning home from a hike to the peak of a small mountain. Ironically, this excited me because I had just finished the module on acute and pathic prescribing in my studies at the Hahnemann Center, and thought “Oh, yay! I can put some of my new-found knowledge to use and try some remedies!” Well, as my symptoms progressed, I realized I have a little ways to go before I will be able to pin-point exactly what remedies to use for the different types of cold and flu symptoms.

I thought at first that the symptoms were due to a flare up of some tonic disease energy (Natrum Muriaticum), which they may have been, but I wasn’t finding too much relief there, and couldn’t find the right pathic remedy before the symptoms began to shift and worsen. When I got home, I called my Helkunst practitioner and she prescribed Antimonium Tartaricum and Aconite in the 10M potencies, and like magic, my symptoms were cut in half after 2 hours, and are now down to about 1/3, with a slight runny nose and small cough now and then. This is quite bearable compared to my state before taking the remedy. Here is an over-view of the progression of symptoms:

Day 1: First symptom noticed was marked dryness in the posterior nares (where nasal passages meet the throat). Nasal catarrh (discharge) became profuse, and breathing was difficult. Some digestive discomfort.

Day 2: Very tired in the beginning half of the day. Chilliness all over. Couldn’t get warm. Profuse nasal catarrh and difficulty breathing.

Day 3: Exhaustion, nose began to free up and breathing became easier. Thought that it was going away.

Day 4: Mucous spread down into lungs and a wet, hacking cough began. Cough continued to worsen, with no relief. Thick, yellow-green mucous upon coughing. Chest hurt with coughing. Rattling in lungs when breathing.

Day 5: Cough kept worsening, with nothing able to provide much relief. Took Antimonium Tartaricum 10m and Aconite 10m, symptoms cut in half after 2 hours.

Day 6: Symptoms down to a slight runny nose, and a small rattle in the chest. A small cough every few hours. Feeling overall quite well. Energy back to normal.

Antimonium Tartaricum is indicated for wet coughs, usually in the later stages, with audible rattling mucous, and weakness and exhaustion in the patient. Aconite is indicated for the initial stages of acute inflammatory processes. One of the key indications is symptoms that begin after exposure to cold, dry winds. This is quite interesting, because my cold began about an hour or two after I had stood for awhile on the exposed top of a mountain in upstate New York, in December, on a very windy day. It’s funny because when reading about that during my studies, I almost didn’t quite believe or understand that that could be how an Aconite cold would start. Now I understand much better! As the holiday season comes to a close, I give much thanks for handy homeopathic remedies to stop what could have been a long, nasty progressive cough right in its tracks. I look forward to gaining more personal experience with using acute pathic remedies.

 

